2017 Walkley Awards Documentary Longlist Announced

Six outstanding documentaries longlisted for the 2017 Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism will be screened at the State Library of NSW in Sydney in October, giving the public a free viewing of the finest work in the field over the past year.

From exploring the life and work of one of Australia’s most famous living architects, through to investigating unsolved hate crimes of the 70s and 80s on Sydney beaches, these films showcase the very best in Australian longform journalism.

2017 Walkley Documentary Award Longlist:

  • A Sense of Self, Martin Butler, Liz Jackson, Bentley Dean and Tania Nehme, ABC TV
  • After the Apology, Michaela Perske and Larissa Behrendt, Adelaide Film Festival
  • Deep Water: The Real Story, Amanda Blue, Darren Dale, Jacob Hickey and Blackfella Films Team, SBS TV
  • Glenn Murcutt -– Spirit of Place, Catherine Hunter, Bruce Inglis and Julia Overton, Artsville, ABC TV
  • Is Australia Racist?, Jacqueline Willinge and Joined Up Films Team, SBS TV
  • We Don’t Need a Map, Brendan Fletcher and Warwick Thornton, NITV

All six films will be screened free for the public at the State Library of NSW on Wednesday October 18. Each screening is free, but RSVP is essential.

For screening times and to book your place, click here

A shortlist of three finalists for the Walkley Documentary will be announced at the State Library of NSW on Thursday October 12. The overall winner will be announced at the 62nd Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism in Brisbane on November 29.