2015 Walkley Book Award shortlist


Media alert: 2015 Walkley Book Award Shortlisted Finalists Announced

November 5, 2015

The Walkley Foundation today announced the shortlist for the Walkley Book Award, part of Australia’s most prestigious journalism accolades, the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates Australian writers who take enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. They provide readers with immersive detail, clear analyses and new revelations in their books.

More than 65 books were entered this year. Their subject matter ranged from true crime, politics and war to biography and investigative journalism.

The 2015 Walkley Book Award shortlisted finalists announced today in Sydney include (in alphabetical order):

  • Erik Jensen, Acute Misfortune: The Life and Death of Adam Cullen, Black Inc.
  • Chip Le Grand, The Straight Dope, Melbourne University Press
  • Debi Marshall, The Family Court Murders, Random House Australia

Walkley Book Award Chair Malcolm Farr said journalists were increasingly refusing to be tethered to their usual newspaper and magazine outlets and were instead filling the pages of books, creating a valuable and growing class of Australian literature.

“The quality of this output improves as the numbers grow, a measure of the skill and dedication of the reporters who can turn a news story into a compelling non-fiction expansion.”

“Congratulations and best wishes to all the finalists. In fact, to all the journalists who stepped outside their usual workspaces to help Australians become better informed through books,” he said.

The judging panel for the 2015 book awards included:

Kirstie Clements, journalist and author
Malcolm Farr, chief political writer, news.com.au (Chair, Walkley Book Award judging panel)
Jenny Hocking, professor and Australian Research Council DORA Fellow, National Centre for Australian Studies, Monash University
Malcolm Knox, journalist and author
Dr Bronwen Levy, honorary senior research fellow, School of Communication and Arts, University of Queensland
Kate McClymont, investigative reporter, Fairfax Media (Chair, Walkley Advisory Board)
Katharine Murphy, deputy political editor, Guardian Australia
Andrew Probyn, federal political editor, The West Australian
Paul Syvret, assistant editor, The Courier-Mail
Peter Van Onselen, contributing editor, The Australian

The winner of the 2015 Walkley Book Award will be announced at the 60th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism on Thursday, December 3, in Melbourne. The ceremony will be broadcast live on SKY A-PAC and streamed on the Walkley website.

A full list of Walkley Awards finalists is available on walkleys.com.

For media enquiries, contact Walkley Foundation awards manager Lauren Dixon on (02) 9333 0913, 0413 212 890 or lauren.dixon@walkleys.com

Download this press release as a PDF: Media alert 2015: Book Award shortlist announcement Nov 5 2016