Freelance Journalist of the year entry details


The Walkley Award for Best Freelance Journalist of the Year will be chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence.  Judging will be for a body of work published or broadcast in any medium in the last year. The criteria used for judging will include:

  • newsworthiness
  • research
  • writing
  • production
  • incisiveness
  • impact
  • public benefit
  • ethics
  • originality
  • innovation
  • creative flair

Judges will take regard of the resources available and effort expended in the preparation of the work.

Entrants may submit up to five pieces of work published or broadcast in Australia or New Zealand from April 29, 2015 through to April 26, 2016.  Work may include a submission from one medium only or any combination of print, photo, on-line, blog, social media, video and/or radio.

For full terms and conditions and frequently asked questions please click on the buttons below:

FAQs   Terms & Conditions

If you have questions about the Walkley Freelancer of the Year Award or problems with your entry  contact Lauren Dixon at or on (02)9333 0913