Overall Winners 2008-13

All our former Walkley Young Journalist of the Year winners have gone on to great things …


Ashley Argoon – a regional NSW reporter whose sensitive, committed and dogged reporting on youth suicide and mental health helped pave the way for a swathe of new services and funding addressing the issue. She is now at the Herald Sun.


Jake Sturmer – was a news and current affairs gun from WA. He’s now the ABC’s national science and technology reporter in Sydney.


Yaara Bou Melhem  is a globe-trotting video journalist covering international events for SBS Dateline from her Beirut base.


Latika Bourke – is the ABC’s political and social media reporter tweeting from Australia’s corridors of power.


Julia Medew – was a copy kid for The Age in 1999, and, after moving up as a researcher, trainee, and Magistrates Court Reporter, is now the newspaper’s Health Editor.


Sophie McNeill – a former host of Triple J’s news and current affairs program, Hack, she is now a reporter with ABC Foreign Correspondent.

These bright young journalists have one thing in common: they all won the Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award, got noticed by industry leaders and kicked open doors in their careers!