Finalists announced for Women’s Leadership in Media and Best Freelance Journalist awards

The Walkley Foundation is delighted to announce finalists for its 2017 Women’s Leadership in Media and Best Freelance Journalist awards.

The Women’s Leadership in Media Award

Supported by PwC Australia, this national award recognises outstanding journalistic contribution by women to coverage of gender equality and full participation of women in society.

Finalists in alphabetical order are:

Catherine Fox, ABC Online, The Australian and New South Publishing, “Recruitment drive boosts number of women working on railways” “Elizabeth Broderick, Lance Hockridge and the Male Champions of Change” “Stop Fixing Women”

Nina Funnell, Peta-Jane Madam, Alison Sandy and Penny McWhirter, Sunday Night, Seven Network and, “The Hunting Games” “Police reveal what the ‘secretive’ universities didn’t want you to know” “Footage of brazen sex attack at Sydney university released under FOI”

Tracey Spicer, ABC Books, Harper Collins, The Sydney Morning Herald,, “The Good Girl Stripped Bare” “The Objectification and Sexualisation of Girls” “Mates over Merit”

The Walkley Foundation thanks PwC for its support.

Walkley Award for Best Freelance Journalist

The Walkley Award for Best Freelance Journalist recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry and is open to residents of either Australia or New Zealand.

Finalists in alphabetical order are:

Jo Chandler, The Monthly and Background Briefing, Radio National ABC, “Climate of Change”
Debra Jopson, NITV/SBS Online and Spectrum, The Sydney Morning Herald, “The Hidden Valley”
Kate Lamb, Guardian Australia, “Duterte’s dirty drug war”

The judges of both awards noted the high quality of the entries this year and congratulated the finalists on their excellent work.

Winners of both awards will be announced at the Walkley Mid-Year Awards Celebration in Sydney on July 26. Subscribe to the Walkley newsletter to get our award updates.


Media enquiries: Kate Golden, / 02 9333 0951
Awards questions: Lauren Dixon, / 02 9333 0913