Press Freedom

Ross Coulthart will talk about the threats to every journalist arising from Australia’s national security regime.

Ross Coulthart will talk about the threats to every journalist arising from Australia’s national security regime.

Every year the Media, Entertainment & Arts Alliance (MEAA) and The Walkley Foundation, supported by the International Federation of Journalists Asia Pacific, join for a fundraising drive to promote press freedom and support the families of journalists who have died in our region.

This year, our 2015 Press Freedom Dinner was held at the Ivy ballroom on Friday May 1.  

The theme in 2015 was Press Freedom Under Surveillance.  Watch or read the incredible keynote address by Gold Walkley and Logie award winner and former Channel Seven Sunday Night investigative journalist, Ross Coulthart, who spoke about the threats to every journalist arising from Australia’s national security regime.  Find out critical information about metadata, surveillance, protecting your source and the scary reality your phone and its metadata are being hacked daily without you knowing.

On the night, the annual Press Freedom report is released.  You can read the 2015 Press Freedom Report here

Thanks to all those who supported the event, either by attending or purchasing raffle tickets. And, congratulations to our following raffle ticket winners:

Raffle tickets sale champions

Staff – Jenny Farrar sold the most number of books\tickets.

Member (non staff) – Marg Wenham from the Courier Mail in Brisbane

Raffle prize winners: 

Mark Rudder from Mosman, NSW took home the secluded tropical island getaway to Bedarra valued at $15,000.  Wendy Williamson from Foster, VIC, can now get snap happy with her new Nikon D750 and Eva O’Driscoll from Adelaide, SA, is no doubt planning her weekend getaway to Sydney with an accommodation and dining package from Meriton World Towers and Rockpool.

Congratulations to our winners and thanks again to our sponsors.

2014 Press Freedom Australia Dinner – Sydney, May 2

juris greste

The who’s who of Australia’s media gathered at Sydney Harbour on May 2 to honour World Press Freedom Day and fund-raised for colleagues in need in the Asia Pacific. Multi Walkley Award-winning investigative journalists Richard Baker and Nick McKenzie, of Fairfax Media, presented a lively and revealing insiders’ account of their stories on big business and government that often land them in court, with ABC senior journalist Philippa McDonald as emcee.

Congratulations to the Raffle Winners of the 2014 Press Freedom Australia Dinner

1st Prize for the Trip to Broome went to ABC’s Sarah Ferguson.

2nd Prize for the Nikon voucher was won by Adele Massey.

3rd Prize for the Pete Longworth Photographic Print went to Helen Grasswill.

In addition, we had a Bonus Raffle draw on the night, a beautiful hamper from Signorelli Gastronomia. This Bonus Raffle was won by Steven Barclay, the Director of the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office.

Thank you to everyone who helped sell the Raffle Tickets and Booklets for this event. A big thank you to the MEAA member, Carol Burns from Queensland, who sold the most Raffle Booklets!



We would also like to thank the following donors who added an extra something special to our Freedom Favour Bags, sold on the night.


Also, a big thank you to Roses Only for providing such beautiful hampers and roses to our presenters and the lucky winner of our business card draw at the end of the night.

Roses Only Logo

A big thank you to all the generous donors of the Silent Auction: Botanica Rainforest Spa & Retreat, Komune Resorts & Beach Club, Billabong Retreat, Golden Age Cinema and Bar, Sydney Fish Market, Marque Restaurant, Tulloch Wines, Camilla, Candy Spender Jewels, Riley Burnett, Playbill Venues, Sydney Skydivers, Skye Lifestyle, FlyAJetSim Flight Simulator, Village Performing Arts Centre, Epiphany, Stage and Screen Travel Services, Art Series Hotel Group, Dave Wood, and LionCo.

And another big thank you to the donors of our Raffle Prizes: Pinctada Cable Beach together with Australia’s NorthWest, Nikon and Pete Longworth as well as the Bonus Raffle Prize by Signorelli Gastronomia.