Shortlist announced for the 2017 Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship for aspiring TV journalists

The Walkley Foundation is excited to announce the three shortlisted finalists in the 2017 Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship.

Judges Anita Jacoby, Grant Williams (Nine Network), Jenny Brockie (SBS) and Marc Fennell (ABC and SBS) and Tom Whitty (The Project) chose the three finalists from a longlist of 10 young journalists who were named earlier this month.

Shortlisted finalists for the 2017 Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship include:

• Lydia Bilton, The University of Sydney
• Megan Morris, Deutsche Welle
• Elliana Saltalamacchia, Monash University

“It’s terrific to see the overall quality of entries we’ve received for the 2017 scholarship,” Jacoby said. “There are clearly a lot of budding young journalists passionate about forging a career in the broadcast industry.”

This scholarship was established with the generous support of Jacoby, a journalist and producer, to honour the memory of her father Phillip Jacoby — a pioneer in the Australian electronics and broadcast technology industry.

Final-year journalism students and recent graduates with a passion for broadcast journalism were encouraged to apply for the 12-week paid internship.

The recipient will spend eight weeks at the Nine Network in Sydney and four weeks at The Walkley Foundation for Journalism, and participate in one TV production course through the open program at the Australian Film TV & Radio School (AFTRS).

The winner will also be mentored by senior journalist members of The Walkley Advisory Board and throughout the placement work with and learn from some of Australia’s leading news and current affairs journalists and producers.

The winner will be announced at the Walkley Mid-Year Celebration in Sydney on July 26, 2017.

The Walkley Foundation thanks Anita Jacoby for her support in creating this opportunity for students.