The Walkley Trustees are the members and directors of the company Walkley Foundation Pty Ltd, which is registered with the Australian Charities and Not-for-Profit Commission. They act as the management board.

The Walkley Trustees

Walkley Trustee Chair: Quentin Dempster AM Avatar

Walkley Trustee Chair: Quentin Dempster AM

Quentin Dempster AM  is a broadcaster, journalist and author.  He is currently contributing editor of The New Daily.  He is a former director (staff-elected) of the Australian Broadcasting Corporation (1992-96).  He was made a member of the Order of Australia in 1992 for services to current affairs and journalism.  Starting from a cadetship with the Maryborough Chronicle in Queensland, he worked for the Brisbane Telegraph  as chief political reporter and columnist. From 1984 he joined  the ABC as political reporter and then current affairs  presenter of The 7.30 Report.  He presented the NSW edition of the program from 1990 to 1994, headed the ABC investigative unit and presented Stateline, later 7.30 NSW  from 1996 to 2016. He is the author of three ground breaking books:  Honest Cops (1992); Whistleblowers (1997) and Death Struggle – How political malice and boardroom power plays are killing the ABC (2000). 

Michael Janda Avatar

Michael Janda

Michael Janda has worked at the ABC for almost eight years across online, radio and television news and current affairs. He started out as the national broadcaster’s inaugural business and finance cadet in 2008 which, in a stroke of luck, was probably the best year to cover economics and the markets since 1929. For most of his time at the ABC, Michael has been responsible for editing the business news page, as well as writing much of its content. However, he is also a regular contributor to The Drum, and has worked as a reporter and producer for The Business and as a business and economics reporter for PM, The World Today and AM.

Kate McClymont Avatar

Kate McClymont

Kate McClymont is an investigative journalist with The Sydney Morning Herald.She is a five-time winner of journalism’s most prestigious award, the Walkley, including the Gold Walkley. She was named the 2012 NSW Journalist of the Year for her investigations into the Health Services Union and the business activities of former NSW Labor minister, Eddie Obeid.  Kate is also the recipient of numerous other awards including six Kennedy awards and the George Munster award and is a member of the Senate of Sydney University.

Gina McColl Avatar

Gina McColl

Gina McColl is deputy editor of the investigative unit at The Age, with interests in probity in politics, public policy and consumer affairs. A former Age arts editor and BRW web editor, Gina has been vice-president of the Media section of MEAA since 2007.

Laurie Oakes Avatar

Laurie Oakes

Laurie Oakes is one of Australia’s foremost political commentators with a distinguished career in journalism that spans more than 50 years. His incisive political commentary and news-breaking ability has earned him the respect of peers and politicians alike. Renowned for his probing interviews and Canberra-shaking scoops, in 1997 he broke the travel rorts saga that ended the careers of three ministers and several government staffers. In 2010 Laurie won the Gold Walkley and also the Walkley for Television Reporting for his coverage of Labor’s leaks during the election that year. In 1998 he won the Walkley Award for Journalistic Leadership.

Stuart Washington Avatar

Stuart Washington

Stuart Washington has reported from New York, Singapore and Cambodia in a career kickstarted as a police reporter for the Newcastle Herald. Award-winning work has included a lengthy pursuit of the villains at the centre of Australia’s largest superannuation theft and a feature that presaged the global financial crisis. The quality of his work has been recognised with a Knight Bagehot fellowship, giving him a one-year sabbatical at Columbia University. The period in New York allowed him access to some of the key characters in the GFC, and a unique perspective as a reporter.

Stuart is currently the Managing Editor for The Sydney Morning Herald.