2018 Industrial Reporting Award winners

Congratulations to the 2018 industrial reporting award winners Emma Field and Vanessa Marsh with their story in The Weekly Times, The Courier-Mail, Townsville Bulletin, Bundaberg NewsMail and The Rural Weekly, “Pacific worker program death count”

See the full announcement of the mid-year award winners here.

Best Industrial Reporting judges 2018: Elizabeth Byrne, Osman Faruqi and Paddy Manning

View all the 2018 finalists here.

About the award

The Helen O’Flynn & Alan Knight Award for Best Industrial Reporting is an all-media award recognising outstanding journalism which captures the importance of a robust industrial relations ecosystem for Australian workers and businesses, as well as its complexities.

The award seeks to elevate the importance of industrial relations coverage and to encourage it further. Established in 2017, it honours the two individuals within the award’s title – Helen O’Flynn (1920-1984), one of Australia’s most respected industrial journalists, and Alan Knight, an Emeritus professor and newspaper, radio and TV journalist for over 40 years.

Entry fee

Entry is free for MEAA members and $150 for non-members.

Judging criteria

The criteria used for judging include:

  • Originality (including newsworthiness)  and innovation
  • Research
  • Storytelling ability
  • Tangible public benefit
  • Accuracy and ethics
  • Excellent use of the medium/media

Judges will also consider the resources available in the preparation of the work.

Conditions of entry

Journalists working in all media are encouraged to apply and need not be designated Industrial Relations reporters. The winner is chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence.

Entrants may submit one piece of journalism or a body of work comprising up to three related pieces of journalism, published or broadcast in any medium from May 20, 2017 to April 26, 2018.

Entrants must be Australian citizens or permanent Australian residents. To be eligible for entry, work must cover industrial relations and have been published, produced or broadcast in Australia.

All entrants must certify that the entry is their original work. Apart from standard sub-editorial/production treatment, submissions must adhere to the MEAA Code of Ethics in their preparation; undertake to abide by this Code of Ethics; and have complied with all copyright requirements.

Full Terms & Conditions
Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions, please contact either:

2017 Winners

Congratulations to the 2017 industrial reporting award winners, Ben Schneiders, Royce Millar and Nick Toscano, The Age, for their stories:

Read the full list of 2017 finalists here.