The Women’s Leadership in Media Award


Entries are now open. Entries close April 26.

This national award honours and celebrates women who are making a contribution to gender equality. It recognises outstanding journalistic contribution to the coverage of gender equality and full participation of women in society. The award acknowledges reporting that demonstrates significant innovation, enterprise or courage in raising awareness of issues.  This award reflects the important role of the media in improving community perceptions of issues in gender equality. Quality reporting challenges misinformation and outdated stereotypes as well as increasing understanding of the benefits of full participation of women in all aspects of society. This award is supported by PwC.

Self-nominated and open to women working in media that’s mainstream or alternative, collaborative or individual, entrants whether they be individual or part of a team will be evaluated on criteria such as accuracy and insight, the impact of their work and the extent to which reporting sheds light on pressing, under-reported issues. Entries will be accepted from all media platforms and the award winner will be recognized for using their platforms to promote visibility for women’s perspectives and experiences.

All entries must have been published, broadcast or televised in Australia from April 27, 2017 to April 26, 2018. Eligibility for the Walkley Women’s Leadership Award is based on independent acts of journalism, free from any commercial or corporate interests.

Entry is free.

This is an all-media category, and each entry may consist of up to three pieces of work to represent a body of work.


Judges consider the resources and time available in creating the work, the pressure and demand of reporting deadlines, and the location of the journalist, taking into consideration potential isolation or exposure to outside forces, danger or pressure in presenting a story.


  • Newsworthiness
  • Research, writing and productions
  • Incisiveness
  • Innovation, enterprise or courage
  • Impact and public benefit
  • Adherence to ethical standards
  • Time constraints and resources available

All entrants are required to establish  must certify that the entry is their original work; apart from normal sub-editorial/production treatment, they have adhered to the MEAA Code of Ethics in its preparation; they undertake to abide by the Code of Ethics; and have complied with all copyright requirements.

Award presentation

The winner will be announced at the Walkleys Mid-Year Awards Celebration in Sydney on July 18, 2018. Winners work, judges’ comments and photographs of the night will be available online after the event.


Please contact awards manager Lauren Dixon on 02 9333 0913 / or Barbara Blackman on 02 9333 0921 /

2017 Winner: Catherine Fox

Congratulations to the 2017 Women’s Leadership in Media Award winner Catherine Fox for her work in ABC Online, The Australian and New South Publishing:
Recruitment drive boosts number of women working on railways
Elizabeth Broderick, Lance Hockridge and the Male Champions of Change

See the full announcement of the mid-year award winners here.

Finalists were previously announced here.

Stop Fixing Women

2016 Winner: Jess Hill

Announcement: Jess Hill named 2016 Women’s Leadership in Media Award Winner.

Finalists in alphabetical order were:

  • Amanda Collinge, Q&A, ABC TV, “Women on Q&A”, “String Theory, Sea Turtles, Al and Pi”, “Q&A Domestic Violence Special”
  • Jessica Halloran, RendezView, News Corp Australia , “Hey fellas, care to join us in the 21st century?”, “An open letter to the AFL from the mother called a ‘stripper;”, “There’s too many white guys talking about footy on TV”
  • Jess Hill, The Monthly and Radio National, ABC Radio, “Home Truths: The costs and causes of domestic violence”, “A Cycle of Violence”, “Suffer the children: Trouble in the Family Court”

This award is supported by PwC.

PwC Colour (2)