Terms & Conditions

Walkley Book Award

  • All books must have been published in the 12 months from September 1, 2020 to August 31, 2021.
  • Six full versions of the published work must be submitted in hard copy after submitting the online form.
  • Each title must be submitted by the author and authorised by the publisher. Entries can be a joint collaboration of up to five people.
  • Titles can be an edited collection of no more than five authors.
  • Content can be of Australian or international subject matter and can be historical in context.
  • Authors must be Australian citizens or permanent residents of Australia.
  • Books will not be eligible if a significant portion has been previously published in book form.
  • All entries should declare any subsequent formal corrections, challenges to the accuracy of an entry or claims of plagiarism or defamation against the work.
  • An author may enter only once into the category.
  • The cost of entering the awards, including GST, is $260 per entry. Through its support of the Walkley Awards, MEAA covers the entry costs for its financial members as a benefit of membership. Financial members are not required to pay the entry fee except where a non-member is part of a team entry, in which case the normal entry fee ($260 only) is required.
  • Judges have the right to reject an entry, which in their opinion does not comply with the requirements of the competition. The judges’ decision will be final. The Walkley Judging Board reserves the right to withdraw a Walkley Award if it later finds the entrant did not comply with the entry conditions.
  • The Walkley Foundation reserves the right to use all material submitted for presentation and media use and to reproduce it for the purposes of promoting the awards and for allowing a telecast of the awards presentation ceremony.
  • Entries will not be returned

First-round entries close at 5 pm on Friday, June 11, 2021, and second round entries close at 5 pm on Tuesday, August 31, 2021.

Entries can encompass subject matter including true crime and biographies through to political analysis, business writing, war reporting, investigative journalism and foreign correspondence.


Judging is a two-tier process comprising senior representatives from within the media and publishing community. Judges will determine a long list and shortlist of nominees prior to the announcement of winners at the 66th Walkley Awards Gala Dinner on November 19, 2021.

Entries must include:

  • Complete the online form where they will be asked to provide a synopsis and supporting statement
  • Six hard copies of the book once the online form is complete
  • Payment of $260 if a non-member of MEAA
  • Send entries to: 2021 Walkley Book Award, Walkley Foundation, 245 Chalmers Street, Redfern NSW 2016

Award enquiries

Book Award enquiries should be directed to Lauren Dixon on (02) 9158 3820 or email lauren.dixon@walkleys.com