Skip to main content

Six outstanding documentaries have been longlisted for the 2021 Walkley Documentary Award. 

All six films tackle different themes, are in different styles and highlight different modes of documentary storytelling, but all help to showcase the very best in Australian long-form journalism.

The following films have made the 2021 Walkley Documentary Award longlist: 

  • Addicted Australia, Jacob Hickey and Darren Dale, Blackfella Films and SBS
  • Batoor: A Refugee Journey, Barat Ali Batoor, Melbourne Documentary Film Festival
  • Firestarter – The Story of Bangarra, Ivan O’Mahoney, Wayne Blair and Nel Minchin, In Films, ABC
  • Incarceration Nation, Helen Morrison and Dean Gibson, Bacon Factory Films, Bent3land Productions and NITV
  • Ms Represented with Annabel Crabb, Annabel Crabb, Stamatia Maroupas, Frances O’Riordan and Geraldine McKenna, ABC
  • See What You Made Me Do, Karina Holden, Tosca Looby and Jess Hill, Northern Pictures and SBS

A shortlist of three finalists for the Walkley Documentary Award will be announced alongside all the finalists for the 66th Walkley Awards on Thursday, October 21.

For media enquiries contact Clare Fletcher on  or 0432 616 810.

Close Menu