Skip to main content

Finalists announced for Walkley Mid-Year Awards

The Walkley Foundation is delighted to announce finalists for its 2018 Mid-Year Awards.

Peer-judged and selected on the basis of journalistic excellence, the Mid-Year Awards suite includes the Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards, as well as the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship, the Arts Journalism Awards and the Women’s Leadership in Media, Freelancer of the Year and Industrial Reporting Awards.

The 2018 finalists, in alphabetical order, are listed below.

Thank you to all of our partners on the 2018 Mid-Year Awards.

Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards

These awards recognise and reward the hard work of our most outstanding young Australian journalists. They recognise the work of journalists aged 28 and under who demonstrate excellence in the fundamental tenets of the craft as well as the ability to present distinctive and original journalism that pushes the boundaries of the profession.

All media: Shortform journalism

Supported by ABC

All media: Longform feature or special

Supported by Fairfax Media

All media: Coverage of community & regional affairs

Supported by UNSW

All media: Visual storytelling

Supported by Sky NEWS

All media: Public service journalism

Supported by News Corp Australia

All media: ​Student journalist of the year

Supported by Macleay College

Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year

Supported by Jibb Foundation

Winners in each category will be announced on July 18. The winner of each category will be in the running to win the overall Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award. Thanks to support from a philanthropic grant from the Jibb Foundation, the Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award will receive a two-week trip to US newsrooms including the New York Times, Columbia Journalism Review and BuzzFeed, with return flights included.

The winners of all categories will also be matched with mentors to further boost their careers.

Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship – Longlist
Supported by Anita Jacoby, Nine and AFTRS

The Jacoby-Walkley scholarship includes a ten-week placement at the Nine Network in Sydney and a four-week placement at the Walkley Foundation, in the lead up to (and including) the 63rd Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism. The winner also receives mentoring from senior journalist members of the Walkley Advisory Board and a place in an AFTRS TV Unit course programmed by AFTRS Open.

  • Benjamin Ansell, The University of Melbourne
  • Amy Clements, The University of Melbourne
  • Thomas de Souza, University of Notre Dame
  • Eden Gillespie, UNSW
  • Tara Hayes, UTS
  • Jarrod Sansom, University of Newcastle
  • Jennifer Scherer, UTS
  • Amber Schultz, Monash University
  • Natalie Sekulovska, UNSW
  • Rayane Tamer, UTS

Freelance Journalist of the Year Award
Supported by MEAA and Media Super

The Freelance Journalist of the Year Award recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry. The winner will receive a full pass to Storyology 2018 and two tickets to the Walkley Awards Gala Dinner.

Women’s Leadership in Media Award
Supported by PwC

This national award honours and celebrates women who are making a contribution to gender equality. It recognises outstanding journalistic contribution to the coverage of gender equality and full participation of women in society.

Helen O’Flynn & Alan Knight Award for Best Industrial Reporting
Supported by Ai Group, Australian Super, Unions NSW, ACTU, UTS and MEAA

The Award for Best Industrial Reporting is an all-media award which recognises outstanding journalism that captures the importance of a robust industrial relations ecosystem for Australian workers and businesses, as well as its complexities.

Arts Journalism Awards

These awards include two categories: The Walkley Arts Journalism Award and the Walkley-Pascall Award for Arts Criticism. Through the support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund we are thrilled to announce that in 2018 winners of both of these two awards will each receive $5000 in prize money. Both winners will also receive up to $1000 in financial support to attend Storyology.

All media: Arts Journalism
Supported by: Copyright Agency Cultural Fund

All media: Walkley-Pascall Award for Arts Criticism
Supported by: Copyright Agency Cultural Fund

The Walkley Foundation thanks all award partners for their support.

Media queries: Clare Fletcher, | +61 431 233 864
Awards questions: Lauren Dixon, | +61 2 9333 0913

Close Menu