Skip to main content

2019 Walkley Book Award shortlisted finalists announced

November 7, 2019

The Walkley Foundation today announced the shortlist for the Walkley Book Award, part of Australia’s most prestigious journalism accolades, the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates Australian writers who take enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. Their books bring readers immersive detail, clear analysis and new revelations.

65 books were entered this year. Their subject matter ranged from true crime, politics and war to memoir, biography and investigative journalism.

The 2019 Walkley Book Award shortlisted finalists announced today are (in alphabetical order):

  • Gabrielle Chan, Rusted Off, Vintage, Penguin Random House Australia 
  • Jess Hill, See What You Made Me Do, Black Inc.
  • Leigh Sales, Any Ordinary Day, Penguin Random House Australia

The 2019 Book Award judges were:

  • Dennis Atkins, (Chair of the Walkley Book Award)
  • Jonathan Green, editor, Meanjin
  • Edna Carew Hoffmann, journalist and author
  • Shona Martyn, editor, Spectrum
  • David Skapinker, Telum Media 
  • Associate Professor Bronwyn Lea, Head of the School of Communication and Arts, The University of Queensland
  • Paul Bailey, editor, Australian Financial Review
  • Madonna King, journalist and author
  • Alex Wake, RMIT Journalism Program Manager 

The winner of the 2019 Walkley Book Award will be announced at the 64th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism in Sydney on November 28.

The awards will be broadcast live on Sky News Extra Foxtel channel 604 and streamed live on the Walkley website ( from 7:00pm AEDT.

A full list of Walkley Awards finalists is available at

For media enquiries contact Walkley Foundation Communications Manager Clare Fletcher, or 0432 616 810.

Close Menu