Skip to main content

The Walkley Foundation today announced the longlist for the Walkley Book Award, part of Australia’s most prestigious journalism accolades, the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates Australian writers who take enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. Their books bring readers immersive detail, clear analysis and new revelations.

Fifty-nine books were entered this year. Their subject matter ranged from true crime, politics and war to memoir, biography and investigative journalism.

The nine books longlisted for the 2022 Walkley Book Award are (in alphabetical order):

  • Bronwyn Adcock, Currowan, Black Inc. Books
  • Van Badham, QAnon and On, Hardie Grant
  • Anna Clark, Making Australian History, Vintage Australia/Penguin
  • Sean Kelly, The Game: A Portrait of Scott Morrison, Black Inc. Books
  • Louisa Lim, Indelible City, Text Publishing
  • Nathan Lynch, The Lucky Laundry, HarperCollins
  • Anthony Sharwood, The Brumby Wars, Hachette Australia
  • Alexandra Smith, The Secret, Pan Macmillan Australia
  • Andrew Quilty, August in Kabul, MUP

The 2022 Book Award judges were:

  • Paul Bailey, editor, Australian Financial Review
  • Blanche Clark, former literary editor, Herald Sun
  • Mary Cunnane, editor and literary agent
  • Lindy Jones, bookseller, Abbeys
  • Bernard Lagan, writer, The Times
  • Caro Llewellyn, CEO, The Wheeler Centre
  • Kathy Marks, Walkley-winning journalist 
  • Amruta Slee, ABC RN
  • Lee Tulloch, author, travel writer and weekly columnist, Nine Traveller

Three shortlisted finalists will be announced on November 3.

The winner of the Walkley Book Award will be announced as part of the 67th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism on November 17.

A full list of Walkley Awards finalists is available at


Close Menu