Skip to main content

Three finalists have been announced for the 2023 Media Diversity Australia Award administered by the Walkley Foundation.

The Media Diversity Australia Award honours journalists who are making an outstanding contribution through their reporting or coverage of diverse people or issues in Australia. This includes culturally and linguistically diverse communities (CALD) and people with disability (PWD).

It celebrates reporting that demonstrates notable courage in raising awareness of CALD and/or PWD experiences and perspectives, as well as innovation in the telling of these stories. It recognises the significance of media coverage in providing nuanced reporting which serves to alter perceptions and attitudes, challenge stereotypes and fight misinformation.

Media Diversity Australia CEO Mariam Veiszadeh said, “Whose stories are told or not told, and how they are framed within the media plays a significant role in shaping perceptions of historically unrepresented groups in the broader community. As a powerful cultural megaphone, the media has the potential to challenge or perpetuate stereotypes.

“It is crucial to prioritise cultural safety, particularly for journalists from marginalised backgrounds, as we witness the impact of racist abuse and vitriol on respected journalists like Stan Grant, a Wiradjuri man. We are proud to partner with the Walkley Foundation in recognising exceptional finalists who contribute significantly by reporting or covering diverse people and issues in Australia.”

The finalists are, in alphabetical order:

  • Dan Bourchier, ABC, “Voice reporting by Dan Bourchier” (1, 2, 3)
  • Hagar Cohen and Raveen Hunjan, ABC, “Racism allegations lead to staff exodus” (1, 2)
  • Jessica Horner and Nicole Mills, ABC, “A Rich New Lens” (1)

The finalists were announced alongside all the award finalists in the Walkley Foundation’s 2023 Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism.

Peer-judged and selected on the basis of journalistic excellence, the Mid-Year Celebration suite administered by the Walkley Foundation includes the John B Fairfax Family Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards, June Andrews Award for Industrial Relations Reporting, June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year, June Andrews Award for Women’s Leadership in Media, Our Watch Award, Media Diversity Australia Award, Humanitarian Storytelling Award, June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism and The Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism.

Winners will be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism event in Sydney on June 15. 


Media contacts:

Media Diversity Australia media queries: Mariam Veiszadeh, | +61 422 837 154

Walkley Foundation media queries: James Gorman, |  +61 414 990 480


More on the Media Diversity Australia Award


Close Menu