Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

MEAA Journalist Code of Ethics webinar #4

29 July 2021 @ 5:30 pm - 6:30 pm AEST


MEAA and The Walkley Foundation present – Identity crisis: Best practice for respectful and inclusive reporting

This fourth session in a series of webinars exploring MEAA’s Journalist Code of Ethics focuses on best practice for diversity and inclusion in journalism.

Tying back to the second standard of the Code: Do not place unnecessary emphasis on personal characteristics, including race, ethnicity, nationality, gender, age, sexual orientation, family relationships, religious belief, or physical or intellectual disability.

Our expert panel will discuss how relevant race, gender, sexual orientation, age etc. are to journalism. Hear from working journalists and advocates with lived experience about respectful reporting, unconscious bias vs overt discrimination, and how our media industry measures up on diversity.

The session will feature presentations on cultural considerations for journalists and inclusion and reporting for those living with a disability, as well as a panel discussion and audience Q&A.


  • Melissa Griffiths | Transgender advocate | Diversity and inclusion consultant
  • Kishor Napier-Raman | Politics Reporter | Crikey
  • Beverley Wang | Journalist | Co-host of Stop Everything!


  • Allan Clarke | Walkley Award-winning investigative journalist, writer and producer
  • El Gibbs | Award-winning writer | Disability advocate

Date: Thursday 29 July
Time: 5:30pm – 6:30pm AEST
Cost: $10 plus booking. All revenue will be donated to the Media Safety & Solidarity Fund.


A MEAA initiative established in 2005, the Media Safety & Solidarity Fund is supported by donations from Australian journalists and media personnel to assist colleagues in the Asia-Pacific region through times of emergency, war and hardship.

For any questions regarding the event please contact Walkley Foundation Events & Programs Coordinator Marcus Raue at


29 July 2021
5:30 pm - 6:30 pm AEST
Close Menu