Skip to main content

Finalists announced for Walkley Mid-Year Celebration

May 29, 2019

The Walkley Foundation is delighted to announce the finalists for its 2019 Mid-Year Celebration.

Peer-judged and selected on the basis of journalistic excellence, the Mid-Year Celebration suite includes the Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards, as well as the Arts Journalism Prizes, Women’s Leadership in Media, Freelancer of the Year, Best Industrial Reporting, the inaugural Media Diversity Australia Award and the Our Watch Award.

Winners will be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration in Sydney on June 26. At this event, the winning recipients will also be announced for the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship with Nine, the Media Super Scholarship with Seven, the William Buckland Foundation Fellowship with The Age and the Sean Dorney Grant for Pacific Journalism.

The 2019 finalists, in alphabetical order, are listed below.

Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards

These awards recognise and reward the hard work of our most outstanding young Australian journalists. They recognise the work of journalists aged 28 and under who demonstrate excellence in the fundamental tenets of the craft as well as the ability to present distinctive and original journalism that pushes the boundaries of the profession.

All media: Shortform journalism
Supported by ABC

All media: Longform feature or special
Supported by The Sydney Morning Herald & The Age

All media: Coverage of community & regional affairs
Supported by Google News Initiative

All media: Visual storytelling
Supported by Sky NEWS

All media: Public service journalism
Supported by News Corp Australia

All media: ​Student journalist of the year
Supported by Macleay College

Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year
Supported by Jibb Foundation
The winner of each category will be in the running to win the overall Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award.

Helen O’Flynn & Alan Knight Award for Best Industrial Reporting

Supported by Ai Group, Australian Super, Unions NSW, ACTU, UTS and MEAA
With philanthropic support provided in memory of Emeritus Professor Alan Knight

Freelance Journalist of the Year

Supported by Media Super

Women’s Leadership in Media

Supported by PwC

Our Watch Award

Supported by The Australian Department of Communications and the Arts

Media Diversity Australia Award

Supported by Media Diversity Australia, CoHealth and The National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters’ Council

  • Sarah Dingle and the Background Briefing Team, Radio National, ABC, “Australia On Trial
  • Quentin McDermott, Natalie Whiting, Ian Harley and Rebecca Latham, Australian Story, ABC TV, “The Invisible Man
  • Aaron Smith, Kirk Docker, Loni Cooper, Pauline Ernesto and Josh Schmidt, ABC and ABC iview, “You Can’t Ask That – Deaf, African Australians and Intersex

Arts Journalism Prizes

Through the support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund, winners of both of these two awards will each receive $5000 in prize money.

All media: Arts Journalism Prize
upported by: Facebook

All media: Walkley-Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism
Supported by: Geraldine Pascall Foundation


Media queries: Clare Fletcher, |  +61 432 616 810
Awards questions: Lauren Dixon, | +61 413 212 890

2019 mid year partners

Close Menu