Skip to main content

Three finalists have been announced for the 2022 Humanitarian Storytelling Award supported by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and administered by the Walkley Foundation.

Now in its second year, the Humanitarian Storytelling Award seeks to elevate the unheard stories of communities affected by armed conflict and other forms of violence. It celebrates storytelling that does no harm, respects dignity, is inclusive, compassionate and people-focused. It recognises the role that journalists play in defending dignity and highlighting that even wars have limits.

ICRC Head of Mission, David Tuck, said the award goes to the heart of the organisation’s mission to protect Iives, well-being and dignity, and to relieve suffering of those affected by armed conflict, in part through raising awareness.

“Humanitarian storytelling is vitally important. It calls upon us to share something with others, however distant they may be, and to demand better, more humane circumstances for all,” Mr Tuck said.

“The power of humanitarian storytelling is particularly clear in the case of remote, long-running conflicts: situations that have escaped our collective and individual attention.

“Good humanitarian storytelling is dignified and compassionate. Through the experience of individuals, it is an honest portrayal of humanity at its worst, in conflict. It is also a bright spotlight on people’s remarkable resilience.”

The finalists are, in alphabetical order.

The finalists were announced alongside all the award finalists in the Walkley Foundation’s 2022 Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism.

Peer-judged and selected on the basis of journalistic excellence, the Mid-Year Celebration suite administered by the Walkley Foundation includes the  John B Fairfax Family Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards, June Andrews Award for Industrial Relations Reporting, June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year, June Andrews Award for Women’s Leadership in Media, Our Watch Award, Media Diversity Australia Award, Humanitarian Storytelling Award, June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism and The Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism.

The ICRC respects independent journalism, and has no input during the Award judging process. 

Winners will be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism event in Sydney on June 15.



ICRC media queries: Sarah Davies, | +61 418 485 120 

Walkley Foundation media queries: James Gorman, |  +61 414 990 480

More on the Humanitarian Storytelling Award

About the ICRC

The International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) is a neutral, impartial and independent, humanitarian organisation that works in more than 100 countries and is based in Geneva, Switzerland. We help people affected by armed conflict and other violence, doing everything we can to protect lives, well-being and dignity, and to relieve suffering, often together with our Red Cross and Red Crescent partners.


Close Menu