Skip to main content

Finalists for the 2022 Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism have been announced today.

Peer-judged and selected on the basis of journalistic excellence, the Mid-Year Celebration suite administered by the Walkley Foundation includes the  John B Fairfax Family Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards, June Andrews Award for Industrial Relations Reporting, June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year, June Andrews Award for Women’s Leadership in Media, Our Watch Award, Media Diversity Australia Award, Humanitarian Storytelling Award, June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism and The Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism.

Walkley Foundation CEO Shona Martyn said the standard of entries was incredibly impressive. Stories on the war in Ukraine, Afghanistan and the fall out from the pandemic were each the subject of many entries. 

“Tumultuous events both in Australia and overseas have, once again, emphasised the importance of unbiased and perceptive quality journalism. These awards, run separately and in parallel to the annual Walkley Awards, cover a raft of important categories including humanitarian reporting, industrial reporting, the arts and stories that look at abuses of power against women and issues of diversity in Australia today, ” Ms Martyn said. 

“The Mid-Year Awards also honour an impressive new generation of journalists who have presented stories of the highest calibre. Their work cements confidence in the journalism of the future. I am also thrilled by the broad array of media organisations represented in the finalists. This too is the sign of a healthy industry. I offer my congratulations to all the finalists. Every category contained exceptional entries and my thanks to the judges for their time and careful consideration.”

Finalists are selected by panels of peers on the basis of overall merit and journalistic excellence. The Walkley Foundation encourages a diversity of entries from journalists around Australia, published or broadcast between April 27, 2021 and April 26, 2022. Judges are selected by the Walkley Judging Board. The Walkley Foundation has a mechanism for dealing with any conflict of interest, actual or perceived, that may arise during the judging process. The guidelines are based on the principle that all actual conflicts of interest are to be avoided and that even a perceived conflict may be damaging to all parties. 

Winners of all the awards will be announced at the Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism in Sydney on June 15. At the Celebration, winners will also be announced for the Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship with Nine, the WIN News Scholarship, the Walkley Young Indigenous Scholarship, and the Sean Dorney Grant for Pacific Journalism (finalists are not announced for these).

In each award below, the finalists are listed in alphabetical order.

The John B Fairfax Family Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards

Supported by Jibb Foundation

These awards recognise the hard work of our most outstanding young Australian journalists. They reward the efforts of journalists aged 28 and under who demonstrate excellence in the fundamental tenets of the profession, as well as the ability to present distinctive and original journalism that pushes the boundaries of the craft.

The winner of each of the six categories below will be eligible for the overall Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Award. The ultimate winner will receive a two-week international trip to newsrooms (flights included) and a mentorship program to boost their career. 

The winner of each of the six categories will receive a complimentary place in an AGSM short course at UNSW Business School. The AGSM Client Engagement team will assist the winners to identify the course most relevant to their development. All courses earn credit towards the AGSM Certificate of Executive Management and Development which, in turn, carries course credit into the AGSM MBA and Graduate Certificates.

Shortform journalism

Supported by ABC

Longform feature or special

Supported by The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age

Coverage of community and regional affairs

Supported by Google News Initiative

Visual storytelling

Public service journalism

Supported by News Corp Australia

Student journalist of the year

Supported by Twitter

June Andrews Award for Industrial Relations Reporting

Supported by MEAA

June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year

Supported by Media Super and MEAA

June Andrews Award for Women’s Leadership in Media

Supported by PwC

Our Watch Award

Administered by The Walkley Foundation

Humanitarian Storytelling Award

Supported by the International Committee of the Red Cross and administered by The Walkley Foundation

Media Diversity Australia Award

Supported by Media Diversity Australia, MultiConnexions, The National Ethnic and Multicultural Broadcasters Council and administered by The Walkley Foundation 

Arts Journalism 

The following two awards recognise excellence in journalism about the creative arts, from the perspectives of both practitioners and critics. Through the generous support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund and the Hantomeli Foundation, the winners of the June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism and The Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism will each receive $5000 in prize money.

June Andrews Award for Arts Journalism

Supported by Meta and Copyright Agency

The Pascall Prize for Arts Criticism

Supported by the Hantomeli Foundation and administered by the Walkley Foundation

Thank you to our judges

Each year hundreds of journalists, editors and producers give their time to judge our awards. Thank you to all those who judged this year:

  • Drew Ambrose, Al Jazeera English
  • Rob Beaumont, WIN NEWS
  • Chris Bendall, The Project
  • Michael Brissenden, Walkley Judging Board chair
  • Jenny Brockie, Journalist
  • Liz Burke,
  • Rowan Callick, freelance, former China Correspondent 
  • Zena Chamas, freelance journalist
  • Hagar Cohen, 7.30, ABC
  • Rhanna Collins, NITV
  • Matt Connellan, SBS World News
  • Alexis Daish, Nine
  • Lisa Davies, AAP
  • Shannan Dodson, Engagement, Strategy and Indigenous Sector Specialist
  • Ben Doherty, Guardian Australia
  • Sean Dorney, Former ABC
  • Jane Doyle, Seven
  • Lin Evlin, SBS News
  • Chris Feik, Black Inc.
  • Jeremey Fernandez, ABC News
  • Nick Galvin, Sydney Morning Herald
  • Mary Gearin, ABC
  • Steph Harmon, Guardian Australia
  • Chris Hopkins, Freelance Photojournalist
  • Dan Illic, Presenter/Comedian/Filmmaker
  • Narelda Jacobs, Ten
  • Anita Jacoby AM, Media executive and award-winning producer, Non-executive director
  • Christian Jantzen, WIN News
  • Dee Jefferson, ABC Arts
  • Alex Johnston, WIN News
  • Melanie Kembrey, Sydney Morning Herald
  • Lachlan Kennedy, Ten
  • Sophie Kuryl, Journalist, WIN Tasmania
  • Tarla Lambert, Women’s Agenda
  • Stella Lauri, WIN News
  • Stephen Lunn, The Australian
  • Josie MacRae, Nine
  • Alex Mann, ABC Radio
  • Rory McClaren, ABC SA
  • Christine Middap,, The Weekend Australian Magazine
  • Kishor Napier-Raman, Crikey
  • Alex Needs, Nine
  • Laura Murphy Oates, Guardian Australia
  • Mary-Louise O’Callaghan, former South Pacific Correspondent, The Australian
  • Robert Ovadia, Seven
  • Charis Perkins, AFR Life and Leisure
  • Melanie Petrinec, The Courier Mail 
  • Olivia Pirie-Griffiths, Junkee Media
  • Elise Potaka, SBS
  • Ella Rubeli, Documentary maker
  • Ali Russell, ABC
  • Diana Simmonds,
  • Petra Starke, Freelance Journalist
  • Emily Steinhardt, WIN Queensland
  • Sarah Stinson, Seven
  • Kate Sullivan, SBS News
  • Kath Sullivan, ABC National Reporting Team
  • Gayle Tomlinson, Illawarra Mercury 
  • Joel Tozer, 60 Minutes, Nine
  • Helen Vatsikopoulos, UTS
  • Jim Waley
  • Martin White, Ten
  • Dorothy Wickham, Melanesia News Network


Media queries: James Gorman, |  +61 414 990 480

Close Menu