Skip to main content

The Walkley Foundation today announced the shortlist for the Walkley Book Award, part of Australia’s most prestigious journalism accolades, the Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.

The Walkley Book Award celebrates Australian writers who take enduring subjects from news, eyewitness accounts, investigations and history. Their books bring readers immersive detail, clear analysis and new revelations.

Fifty-nine books were entered this year. Their subject matter ranged from true crime, politics and war to memoir, biography and investigative journalism. From these, nine books were longlisted in October, and this selection has been whittled down to three.

Walkley Foundation CEO Shona Martyn said, “Books are the ultimate expression of long form journalism and it is exciting to see the strength , and the range, of the entries in this category. This is an area where Australian writers excel. My hearty congratulations to all the shortlisted finalists.”

The 2022 Walkley Book Award shortlisted finalists announced today are (in alphabetical order):

  • Bronwyn Adcock, Currowan, Black Inc. Books
  • Sean Kelly, The Game: A Portrait of Scott Morrison, Black Inc. Books
  • Louisa Lim, Indelible City, Text Publishing

The winner of the Walkley Book Award will be announced as part of the 67th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism on November 17. The award is supported by Banki Haddock Fiora.

A full list of Walkley Awards finalists is available at



Close Menu