The June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry. The award is an initiative of the Walkley Foundation in partnership with Media Super and MEAA.

2022 Winner: Dale Webster, The Regional, “’Big four’ banks casting a dangerous shadow” “Why I spent a year counting every bank in regional Australia” and “What anyone making a submission to Australia’s latest regional banking inquiry should know first

Dale Webster has carved a niche telling stories that resonate with regional Australians. She has decades of experience working in print media but after being made redundant from News Corp’s rural masthead, The Weekly Times, she set out on her own and publishes independently through her own title, The Regional.






2022 finalists were announced on May 26:

Read the full list of finalists hereWinners were announced at the Mid-Year Celebration of Journalism on June 15.

The prize

The winner of the Freelance Journalist of the Year will receive 2 x tickets to the Walkley Awards Gala Dinner.

Entry fee

Thanks to the support of Media Super the entry fee for The June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year has dropped to $50.

Entry remains free for MEAA members.

Judging criteria

The winner of the June Andrews Award for Freelance Journalist of the Year will be chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence.  Judging will be for a body of work (three pieces) published or broadcast in any medium. The criteria used for judging will include:

  • Research
  • Storytelling ability
  • Originality and innovation
  • Tangible public benefit
  • Accuracy and ethics
  • Excellent use of the medium/media

Judges will take into regard the resources available and entrants should be explicit about their available resources in their statements.

Conditions of entry

Works must be submitted before the deadline of Monday 26 April 2022, and have been produced between 27 April 2021 – 26 April 2022.

All entrants must certify that the entry is their original work. Apart from standard sub-editorial/production treatment, submissions must adhere to the MEAA Code of Ethics in their preparation; undertake to abide by this Code of Ethics; and have complied with all copyright requirements.

Full Terms & Conditions
Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions, please contact either:

Lauren Dixon or 0413 212 890

Past Freelance Journalist of the Year winners