Freelance Journalist of the Year

Entries open March 11, 2019.

The Freelance Journalist of the Year  recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry, and is open to residents of either Australia or New Zealand. The award is an initiative of the Walkley Foundation in partnership with Media Super and MEAA.

The prize

The winner of the Freelance Journalist of the Year will receive 2 x tickets to the Walkley Awards Gala Dinner.

Entry fee

Thanks to the support of Media Super the entry fee for the Freelance Journalist of the Year has dropped to $50.

Entry remains free for MEAA members.

Judging criteria

The Freelance Journalist of the Year will be chosen on the basis of journalistic excellence.  Judging will be for a body of work (3 pieces) published or broadcast in any medium. The criteria used for judging will include:

  • Research
  • Storytelling ability
  • Originality and innovation
  • Tangible public benefit
  • Accuracy and ethics
  • Excellent use of the medium/media

Judges will take into regard the resources available and entrants should be explicit about their available resources in their statements.

Conditions of entry

Works must be submitted before the deadline of Thursday 26 April 2019, and have been produced between 27 April 2018 – 26 April 2019. Entries are open to residents of both Australia and New Zealand.

All entrants must certify that the entry is their original work. Apart from standard sub-editorial/production treatment, submissions must adhere to the MEAA Code of Ethics in their preparation; undertake to abide by this Code of Ethics; and have complied with all copyright requirements.

Full Terms & Conditions
Frequently Asked Questions

If you have any further questions, please contact either:

Past Winners

Congratulations to the 2018 Freelancer of the Year, Karishma Vyas, Al Jazeera English, “Bride and brothels: The Rohingya Trade” “Afghanistan: Asylum denied” “Forced back to cambodia”

See the full announcement of the mid-year award winners here.

2018 Judges: Angela Priestley (Women’s Agenda), Miki Perkins ( The Age) and Verica Jokic ( Freelance)

View all the 2018 finalists here.


2017: Jo Chandler
2016: Yaara Bou Melhem
2015: Andrew Quilty
2014: Debra Jopson
2013: Fiona Harari
2012: Dave Tacon