Skip to main content

Terms and Conditions

  • Applicants must be a citizen or permanent resident of Australia.
  • Applicants must be aged 26 years and under at the time of application.
  • Applicants must be enrolled in journalism or communications studies at an Australian university.
  • Recent journalism or communication graduates who do not receive the majority of their income from journalism may also apply as long as they are 26 years or under.
  • Undergraduate or postgraduate students will be eligible.
  • Proof of enrolment / graduation is required.
  • The successful applicant must be able to participate in the scholarship for the entire 12-week period.
  • The scholarship will be undertaken at WIN News in Wollongong and at regional news centres as decided by WIN.
  • The scholarship recipient will receive a stipend of $10,000 to support living expenses for the duration of the scholarship.
  • Successful applicants will need to fund their own travel and accommodation costs from the stipend.
  • The successful applicant will participate in tasks assigned to them by WIN News. During the scholarship, the successful applicant will be bound by the same obligations as regular staff members
  • The successful applicant is expected to keep confidential any information obtained during the course of the scholarship.
  • The scholarship recipient will be covered by the Walkley Foundation’s Volunteers Insurance.
  • On completion of the scholarship, the successful applicant must provide a report (written or filmed) outlining their experience and how it developed their understanding of journalism and in particular long-form journalism. This report will be provided to the scholarship committee and may be published in segments or in its entirety for the purposes of promoting the scholarship.
  •  Shortlisted applicants must be available to be interviewed via video call by the judging panel in the week commencing May 2023.
  • The applicant must be available to undertake the 12-week scholarship at a date agreed on by WIN News and the Walkley Foundation.

Past winners


The 2019 winners of the Helen O’Flynn & Alan Knight Award for Best Industrial Reporting are Ben Schneiders and Royce Millar, The Age, “SourDough: Australia’s High-End Restaurant Scandal”.

The 2019 finalists were:

  • Ewin Hannan, The Australian, “Hunger Games”
  • Ben Knight, Matilda Marozzi, Jessica Longbottom, ABC TV News, ABC online, “Lifting the lid on the hospitality industry”
  • Ben Schneiders and Royce Millar, The Age, “SourDough: Australia’s High-End Restaurant Scandal”



Congratulations to the 2018 industrial reporting award winners Emma Field and Vanessa Marsh with their story in The Weekly Times, The Courier-Mail, Townsville Bulletin, Bundaberg NewsMail and The Rural Weekly, “Pacific worker program death count”.

See the full announcement of the mid-year award winners here.

Best Industrial Reporting judges 2018: Elizabeth Byrne, Osman Faruqi and Paddy Manning


Winners of the 2018 Industrial Reporting Award: Emma Field and Vanessa Marsh, “Pacific worker program death count”.

Close Menu