Mid-Year Awards

Winners and finalists at the 2017 Walkley Mid-Year Awards

Entries for the 2019 Mid-Year Awards open March 11

This suite of awards includes the following categories:

Walkley Young Journalist of the Year Awards

These awards recognise and reward the hard work of our most outstanding young Australian journalists. These awards will recognise the work of journalists aged 28 and under who demonstrate excellence in the fundamental tenets of the craft as well as the ability to present distinctive and original journalism that pushes the boundaries of the profession.

The 2019 categories:

  • All media: Shortform Journalism
  • All media: Longform Feature or Special
  • All media: Coverage of Community & Regional Affairs
  • All media: Visual Storytelling
  • All media: Public Service Journalism
  • Student Journalist of the Year

The Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year will be chosen from the winners of the above categories.

To make the awards even more accessible and valuable to a diverse range of young reporters, a philanthropic grant from the Jibb Foundation subsidies entry fees allowing them to remain at $50, with the exception of the Student Journalist of the Year category, which is free. Entry remains free for MEAA union members.

Find out more.

Freelance Journalist of the Year Award

The Freelance Journalist of the Year Award recognises the unique contribution that freelance journalists make across all media platforms to the future of the industry and is open to residents of either Australia or New Zealand. The winner will receive two tickets to the Walkley Awards Gala Dinner.

Thanks to the generous support of Media Super, the entry fee for this award has been reduced from $150 to $50 to make the awards accessible to a more diverse range of freelance journalists. Entry remains free for MEAA members.

Find out more.

Women’s Leadership in Media Award

This national award honours and celebrates women who are making a contribution to gender equality. It recognises outstanding journalistic contribution to the coverage of gender equality and full participation of women in society. This award is self-nominated and open to women working in media that’s mainstream or alternative, collaborative or individual. Thanks to the generous support of PwC, entry for this award is free.

Find out more.

Jacoby-Walkley Scholarship

University students and recent graduates aged 26 years or under with big dreams of carving out a career in the competitive television industry: This is the opportunity of a lifetime. Over 14 weeks, the Jacoby-Walkley scholarship winner develops knowledge, understanding and experience of the media industry with a range of top media organisations, including:

  • A ten-week placement at the Nine Network in Sydney, including four weeks at 60 Minutes, two weeks in the Nine newsroom, two weeks at 9news.com.au and two weeks split between A Current Affair and Today.
  • A four-week placement at the Walkley Foundation, in the lead up to (and including) the 64th Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism.
  • Mentoring from senior journalist members of the Walkley Advisory Board
  • A place in on AFTRS TV Unit course programmed by AFTRS Open.

The successful applicant receives a stipend over the fourteen weeks of the scholarship. Application for the scholarship is free.

Find out more.

Industrial Relations Reporting Award

The Helen O’Flynn & Alan Knight Award for Best Industrial Reporting is an all-media award which will recognise outstanding journalism that captures the importance of a robust industrial relations ecosystem for Australian workers and businesses, as well as its complexities. Journalists working in all media were encouraged to apply and need not be designated Industrial Relations reporters.

Entry for this award is free for MEAA members and $150 for non members.

Find out more.

Arts Journalism Awards

These awards include two categories: The Walkley Arts Journalism Award and the Walkley-Pascall Award for Arts Criticism. Through the support of the Copyright Agency Cultural Fund we are thrilled to announce that both the winner of the Arts Journalism Award and the winner of the Walkley Pascall Award for Arts Criticism will each receive $5000 in prize money. 

Entry for this award is free for MEAA members and $150 for non members.

Find out more.

If you have any questions, please contact:

Lauren Dixon
Awards and Events Manager
T: (o2) 9158 3820 | E: lauren.dixon@walkleys.com

Gemma Courtney
Events and Programs Coordinator
T: (o2) 9158 3822 | E: gemma.courtney@walkleys.com