Our Award Programs

The annual Walkley Awards are the pinnacle of achievement for any Australian journalist. The Walkleys were started by Ampol Petroleum founder Sir William Gaston Walkley in 1956 with just five categories recognising excellence in print journalism. Today there are 34 categories across all platforms, judged with a two-tier process. No matter their era, Walkley Award-winning stories have always chronicled Australia’s history, people and events.

Congratulations to the 2016 winners!
See the full list and read tributes to each winner

General finalists
Nikon-Walkley photography finalists

Our core awards, the Walkleys


Mid-Year Awards

In recent years, we have expanded our awards program to also recognise outstanding young talent through the Walkley Young Australian Journalist of the Year Awards – and more recently, to recognise Australian freelance journalists, Women in the media and those covering industrial relations issues. Winners announced!.

Entries for the 2017 Mid-Year Award programs are now open!


Awards we administer

We administer the Our Watch Awards, for exceptional reporting on violence against women, in collaboration with Our Watch.